Residents coming ‘round’ on intersection improvements

April 20, 2012

Ohio Wesleyan University senior Sharif Kronemer (Silver Spring, Md./Springbrook) won the highest honor at the eighth annual Dale J. Bruce Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner, held on Thursday in the Benes Rooms of the Hamilton-Williams Campus Center on the Ohio Wesleyan campus.

Kronemer, a member of the men’s cross country and track & field teams, received the Presidential Award, recognizing the University’s top athlete and person. The top honor awarded by the Ohio Wesleyan athletics department, the Presidential Award is based on athletics ability and achievement, academic excellence, character, leadership, activities and inspiration. Kronemer received the Presidential Award for the second consecutive year.

Receiving Top Ten Awards were senior Kale Booher (Covington/Newton), senior Tim Brady (Dublin/Jerome), senior Mackenzie Conway (Marion/Pleasant), senior James DiBiasio (Westlake), senior Kat Enders (Lake Oswego, Ore./St. Mary’s Academy), sophomore Tamra Londot (Utica), senior Belle Madison (Charlevoix, Mich.), senior Alyse Marotta (Dublin/Jerome), junior Erika Reese (Hilliard/Davidson), senior Abby Walsh (Millville, Mass./Blackstone-Millville) and senior Chad Williams (Sunbury/Big Walnut).

The Top Ten Award is voted upon by the Ohio Wesleyan Athletics Council and is based upon the student-athlete’s impact upon their family, their team, the university and the Delaware community. Booher is a member of the men’s cross country and track & field teams, Brady is a member of the men’s basketball team, Conway is a member of the women’s tennis team, DiBiasio is a member of the baseball team, Enders is a member of the women’s lacrosse team, Londot is a member of the volleyball, women’s basketball, and softball teams, Madison is a member of the women’s soccer team, Marotta is a member of the field hockey team, Reese is a member of the softball team, Walsh is a member of the softball team, and Williams is a member of the football team.

The Dr. Jay Martin Award, honoring the top male senior student-athlete, went to senior Travis Wall (Columbus/Upper Arlington), a member of the men’s soccer team.

The Nan Carney-DeBord Award, recognizing the top female senior student-athlete, went to senior Emma Lisull (Ann Arbor, Mich./Greenhills), a member of the women’s track & field and cross country teams.

The Dr. Richard Gordin Award, recognizing the highest cumulative grade-point average among senior male student-athletes, went to Booher.

The Mary Parker Award, recognizing the highest cumulative grade-point average among senior female student-athletes, went to Lisull.

Also recognized were Ohio Wesleyan’s top 50 student-athletes by cumulative grade-point average. They were: senior Nathan Barnett (Columbus/Upper Arlington), sophomore Sarah Bechtel (Bellefontaine), junior Jake Bonnell (Export, Pa./Franklin Regional), Booher, sophomore Kay Cantwell (Louisville, Ky./Atherton), senior Morgan Canup (Milford, Mich.), senior Tim Carney (Berkeley Heights, N.J./St. Peter’s Prep), senior Caleb Chiero (Westerville/Central), Conway, junior Molly Curry (Holliston, Mass.), sophomore Cara DeAngelis (Norton/Ellet), DiBiasio, sophomore Matt Dodrill (Westerville/North), sophomore Jennifer Erichsen (Farmington Hills, Mich./North Farmington), senior Mason Farr (West Lafayette, Ind.), senior Reed Fogle (Delaware/Hayes), senior Nate Fridley (Sidney/Lehman Catholic), sophomore Olivia Gillison (Philadelphia, Pa./Friends Central), sophomore Meg Greff (Hopkinton, Mass.), sophomore Chris Henchey (Melrose, Mass.), junior Jessie Huschart (Columbus/Hilliard Davidson), junior Nathan Kafity (Huron/Lake Ridge Academy), senior Emily Kiourtsis (Pickerington/North), sophomore Katarina Klemensichova (Bratislava, Slovakia/Thailand Regents School) and Kronemer.

Also, junior Jane Lehman (Amherst/Steele), sophomore Jordan Leslie (Bristol, Wis./Westosha Central), senior Ryan Leslie (Grosse Pointe Park, Mich./Grosse Pointe South), Lisull, junior Nicole Lourette (Mechanicsville, Md./Chopticon), Madison, junior Matt Martin (New Brighton, Pa./Riverside), sophomore Ian McCaslin (Prospect, Ky./Saint Xavier), senior Anne McComas (Beverly Hills, Mich./Groves), senior Marina Metzler (Columbia, Md./Hammond), junior Erik Pramschufer (Pleasantville, N.Y./Fordham Prep), junior Erika Reese (Hilliard/Davidson), sophomore Elizabeth Riggio (Itasca, Ill./Lake Park), junior Tyler Sheetz (Eighty Four, Pa./Peters Township), senior Jesse Sheldon (Mansfield/Ontario), senior Michelle Strong (Londonderry, N.H.), junior Will Thieman (Columbus/Upper Arlington), junior Brittany Vickers (Newark/Utica), sophomore Austin Viny (Pepper Pike/Orange), sophomore Melissa Ward (Delaware/Home), senior Elyse Wenger (Loveland), Williams, junior Madeleine Wright (Hermitage, Tenn./Hume Fogg Academic), senior Caitlin Zeller (Cuyahoga Falls) and sophomore Nazar Zhdan (South Orange, N.J./Gill St. Bernard’s).

The Bob Strimer Director’s Cup, awarded to the Ohio Wesleyan team with the highest cumulative grade-point average, went to the women’s cross country team.

The evening’s festivities also included the presentation of the Town-Gown Award, given by the Ohio Wesleyan athletic department in recognition of longstanding relationships with and outstanding support of Ohio Wesleyan student-athletes and athletic programs. The award was presented to Amato’s Wood-Fired Pizza, represented by Brad Hampu and Craig Johnson.

The Dale J. Bruce Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner is named in honor of Dale Bruce ‘52, an All-America football end at Ohio Wesleyan who has been a longtime supporter of Battling Bishop athletics.