Pacers send seniors out in style

By Ben Stroup

February 7, 2014

Hayes’ wrestling team put the finishing touches on its outright OCC-Capital Division championship Thursday — its first in program history — knocking off visiting Worthington Kilbourne 60-15 on Senior Night.

The night was highlighted by plenty of impressive wins, including those collected by senior standouts Nick Beyer (152 pounds) and Raymond Simpson (160). Both won via pins as Beyer capped a comeback win over Kilbourne’s Danny Darby late in the third period while Simpson forced Cameron Wallace to the mat in just 24 seconds.

Other seniors recognized at the event included Andrew Sierawski, a two-time district qualifier, Junior Olympic medalist and the “pinningest” Pacer to ever wrestle for Delaware; Shawn Johnson, a returning state qualifier and Junior Olympic medalist; Colton Richard, a sectional champ and Rieman Invitational champion; and Brandon Walcott, Tyler Wiebe, Reece Kotaka, Paul Claymier, Keenan Kimbro, Derrick Sumner and Troy Shaw — a hard-working group of guys who have been instrumental in making the program what it is today.

“This senior class did what coaches preach to freshman classes all the time,” Hayes coach Josh Heffernan said. “They banded together, worked to better themselves throughout the year, sacrificed, kept focus and, as a result, won a championship. It wasn’t an accident … it has been their focus for a long time. They deserve it.”

Others who had a hand in the win over the Wolves included Greg Brusco (126), who pinned Michael Duzzny in 4:54; Garrett Young (132), who pinned Collin Peirce in 3:04; and Brandyn Dydek (138), who outlasted Trent Plantz 11-9.

Tommy Detunno (106), Max Wright (113), Chris Martinez (170), Richard (195), Sierawski (220) and Derek Louck (285) won by forfeit to smooth out Hayes’ scoring summary.

The Pacers, the eighth seed in today’s OHSAA State Wrestling Dual Team Tournament Finals at The Ohio State University, will take on top-seeded Massillon Perry in a state quarterfinal matchup at 11 a.m.